Dynamism of a Soccer Player

Dynamism of a Soccer Player (1913) – Umberto Boccioni (1882 – 1916)

WLA_moma_Umberto_Boccioni_Dynamism_of_a_Soccer_Player_1913

This is by far my favourite cubist piece.

I think it stood out to me because most of the cubist pieces I have seen are quite geometrical, where as this one feels like it has a lot of movement, which I think is beautiful. It kind of reminds me of my favourite of my own life drawings, but obviously it’s a million times better

At first it just looked like a whole lot of colours & lines, but with closer inspection you notice the calf (leg) and it looks like a man kicking the ball around. I also like the subtle colours.

Leave a Reply

