Ideas, ideas, I have no idea

If you ask me the exciting part of writing a Manifestos is that it can literally be anything you want it to be, but then again that’s exactly the reason it’s a little scary. I’ve had countless ideas for what my manifesto could be. Every time I see another manifesto online it adds to the various ideas, so narrowing it down to just one has been a challenge, but here are a few drafts of my manifesto so far:

A. Following the list form, similar to that of Frank Wright and various others, practise based

The first explores what I think it is to be a street artist

 1 The street artist // The contradiction

        Works publicly // Works underground

        Works for truth // Works for propaganda

        Works for freedom // Works for the money

        Works for…

2 Tui

        Tradition, Traditional

        Upgraded, Uncovered, Unique, Upcoming

        Integrated, Innovative

The second list is a more personal approach to my art practise and my beliefs as an artist. This idea is the one I see the most potential in. Simple word play, states clearly what my intentions are as an artist. It’s straight to the point and also links into the artifact that I want to create.

Or

B. Follow the bible, my beliefs

The main aspect to my manifesto is to clearly state my intention as, an artist, to use and revive traditional maori art, tikanga, and stories through contemporary technology. I don’t strictly have any set beliefs in life however a quote by the Sir Apirana Ngata epitomises how I try, key word – try, to live my life.

Quote by Sir Apirana Ngata, 1949, in the autograph book of a schoolgirl, Rangi Bennett.

“E tipu e rea mō ngā rā o tō ao

Ko tō ringa ki ngā rākau a te Pākehā, hei ora mō te tinana

Ko tō ngākau ki ngā tāonga a ō tïpuna Māori, hei tikitiki mō tō māhuna 

Ko tō wairua ki tō atua, nānā nei ngā mea katoa”

“Grow and branch forth for the days destined to you

Your hands to the tools of the Pākehā for the welfare of your body

Your heart to the treasures of your ancestors as adornments for your brow

Your spirit to god, who made all things”

Reference: Te Ara Encyclopedia. Māori childhood changes. Retrieved from http://www.teara.govt.nz/en/nga-tamariki-maori-childhoods/page-4

Leave a Reply

